Jambo!

What hunter does not dream of an African safari?

My own dream of an African safari began long ago, reading the adventures of Ruark, Hemingway and Capstick, where the beauty of the country and the pure raw adventure of the tent safaris of the mid-1900s were so vividly documented. Of course, other notable and contemporary writers such as Craig Boddington have contributed to this dream with their writing through the years and I have a strong longing for an African safari and adventure.

The written words of these authors ignited and fueled the fires of my dream: the long and exhausting days hunting game on foot, the allure and romance of double rifles, the evening meal of fresh game cooked over an open fire, and experiencing that special and intangible bond shared by hunters telling stories around an African campfire in a simple hunting camp.

While I cannot hunt alongside the great African hunters and writers of the past, I certainly can dream of walking in their footsteps, perhaps just on the same dry earth they trod, with their spirits as companions, helping me hold the rifle steady. I want to experience firsthand what they have shared with me over the years through their stories: the slow methodical tracking and stalking of African game, hearing the birds, monkeys, and roaring lions; seeing the dry dusty footprints of ancient elephant, and visiting the crowded water holes where both the hunters and the prey converge.

I want to be a part of that dry grassland and feel my heart beat with the pulse of Africa as the waves of heat from the expansive veld shimmer into a cloudless sky. And most of all, I want to experience the mystery of the dark and deep African night with the crescent new moon in the ink black sky, along with the famed Southern Cross and the brilliant stars of the southern hemisphere.

Yes, this African safari seed was planted long ago, nourished over the years by the experiences of other hunters, not around a campfire at night, but through literature that has been a joy and an inspiration; and this all lives in my heart and mind.

So, dear friends, put on your hiking boots, and please come along with me on this special trip. I sincerely hope I can share with you my own excitement of discovery, the wonder of a new experience, and something that will spark a desire in you, too, to go forth and seek your next adventure!

Africa!

Africa!

Leave a Reply

